We are excited  to announce the Feliks Gross Endowment Awards Winners for 2020.

CONGRATULATIONS to all the winners! (Listed in alphabetical order)

Feliks Gross Awardees, 2020

Jillian Bellovary, Department of Physics, Queensborough

Gabriele Grosso, Department of Physics, Graduate Center

Stephanie Hershinow, Department of English, Baruch

Lynda Klich, Department of Art and Art History, Hunter

Jennifer Laird,  Department of Sociology, Lehman

David Schwab, Department of Biology, Graduate Center

Henry Wasser Awardees, 2020

Andrew Connolly, Department of English, Hostos

Shana Elbaum-Garfinkle, Department of Biochemistry, Graduate Center

Eugenia Giannopoulou, Department of Biology, City Tech

Yuliya Zabyelina, Department of Political Science, John Jay

Alexander Zevin, Department of History, College of Staten Island




We are now accepting nominations for the 2020 Feliks Gross and Henry Wasser Awards. You can download the nomination form here. If you have any questions please email SDanielsson@gc.cuny.edu 

Nominations must be received by midnight, April 15, 2020 at feliksgrossaward@gmail.com


Nota bene:

The awards are named after two founders of the CUNY Academy. After the awardees are picked, half receive the Feliks Gross award and half receive the Henry Wasser award. This is random and not based on merit.



Feliks Gross Awardees, 2019

Andrew Obus, Department of Mathematics, Baruch College

Elise Crull, Department of Philosophy, City College

James Booth, Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, City College

Ekaterina Likhtik, Department of Biological Sciences, Hunter College and the Graduate Center

Reynaldo Ortiz-Minaya, Department of Puerto Rican and Latino Studies, Brooklyn College

Kevin Wolff, Department of Criminal Justice, John Jay College

Henry Wasser Awardees, 2019

Allyson Friedman, Department of Biological Sciences, Hunter College

Guillermo Gerona-Navarro, Department of Chemistry, Brooklyn College

Carlo Invernizzi Accetti, Department of Political Science, City College

Carla Macchiavello, Department of Music and Art, Borough of Manhattan CC

Michael Yarbrough, Department of Political Science, John Jay College

Mohammad-Ali Miri, Department of Physics, Queens College

The Feliks Gross Awards and the Henry Wasser Awards are presented each year to assistant professors in recognition of outstanding research, or potential for such, in the humanities or sciences, including social and life sciences. Any faculty member who is an assistant professor at any unit of CUNY and whose field of expertise covers an area of the humanities or sciences is eligible to be considered for one of these awards. Recipients who present their work at the ceremony receive an honorarium and a plaque.