The CUNY Academy for the Humanities and Sciences was founded in 1981 to foster scholarship and research in CUNY. Affiliated with the University Faculty Senate, the Academy’s central concern has been to create a University-wide intellectual community and to encourage and support the scholarship of faculty. The Academy is a central feature of university intellectual life.

To foster junior faculty scholarship, the Academy administers the Feliks Gross Endowment Fund which annually invites submission from assistant professors to a competition, judged by senior faculty. The winners of the Feliks Gross and the Henry Wasser awards receive a cash award and a plaque in recognition of outstanding scholarship. Recent winners have come from the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. The Academy’s William Stewart Travel Awards support the travel and participation of assistant professors at professional meetings. The CUNY Academy Adjunct Awards support conference travel and participation of CUNY’s part-time faculty. The Stefan Bernard Baumrin Awards support travel and participation of Associate Professors. Learn more about our awards:

CUNY Academy Adjunct Faculty Travel Award
Stefan Bernard Baumrin Awards (Associate Professors)
Lane Cooper Award (Graduate Students)
Feliks Gross and Henry Wasser Awards
William Stewart Travel Awards (Assistant Professors)


Throughout the academic year, the Academy sponsors a variety of lectures, seminars, theatrical events, forums, conferences, debates and presentations of new work. Speakers have included Nobel laureates, faculty from other universities as well as CUNY faculty. The Academy also sponsors the Seminar on Higher Education, the Seminar on the Modern Greek State and the Abraham S. and Paulette Smith Eisenstadt lecture in U.S. History. These events are publicized through mailings and campus-based publicity.

University faculty are invited to propose programs. Wide support from the CUNY community is an essential requisite for the continued success of the Academy, a unique entity in the University.